Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Information for Couples Wishing to Marry in Iowa:
To apply for a marriage license, both parties & 1 witness (one who is 18 years or older & knows both parties) must sign the application before a notary.
There is a $35.00 fee for the Marriage Application & License. Only cash, credit card or money order accepted by the Des Moines County Recorder's Office.
Marriage applications will not be accepted after 4:00 PM.
Please remember there is a 3 working day wait for the processing of the application. The day of the application is excluded.
Informational Marriage Documents
State of Iowa Marriage License Instructions
Important Information about Iowa Marriage Records
Common Law Marriage
Application to Marry