January 13, 2015

The Des Moines County Board of Supervisors met in regular session at the Court House in Burlington at 9 AM on Tuesday, January 13<sup>th</sup>, 2015, with Jim Cary, Tom Broeker and Bob Beck present.

Unless otherwise noted, all motions passed unanimously.

Changes to tentative agenda: item 6 F was deleted.

The following correspondence was received and filed: notice of a vacancy on the Des Moines County Board of Adjustment. Beck had received notice that a Loss Control Specialist from ICAP will be calling the Auditor for information.

Emergency Management Director Gina Hardin presented a letter of application for local emergency responders to attend an Integrated Emergency Management Course at FEMA headquarters in Maryland. Expense to participating entities will be \$125 per person for meals. Motion to approve was made by Broeker and seconded by Beck.

A Resolution to allow member counties to withdraw from the RUSS organization was approved upon motion by Broeker and seconded by Beck. If counties choose to withdraw, they must pay the equivalent amount of four and one-half years of dues, which amounts to \$61,425, to RUSS. A new 28E agreement will be signed by the remaining counties allowing projects to be approved by majority vote, rather than unanimous vote.

#### RESOLUTION APPROVING SATISFACTORY TERMS FOR WITHDRAWAL FROM THE 28E REGIONAL UTILITY SERVICE SYSTESMS (RUSS) AGREEMENT

WHEREAS, Des Moines County, Iowa is a participating County to the 28E Regional Utility Service Systems Agreement (RUSS) with other member counties, and

WHEREAS, certain counties, namely Mahaska, Washington, and Wapello, are seeking withdrawal from the 28E Agreement, and

WHEREAS, the current 28E Agreement does not otherwise permit withdrawal, however, the counties seeking withdrawal are restricting future projects from moving forward and RUSS is not able to accomplish its goals and objectives without some action such as dissolving entirely or permitting the proposed withdrawal, and

WHEREAS, an Exit Agreement has been prepared, a copy of which is attached herewith, providing for withdrawal from the 28E by any member county if the county's annual dues for a four and one-half (4 ½) year period are paid in full no later than October 1, 2015, and

WHEREAS, Des Moines County has discussed the terms of the Exit Agreement in an open work session, and has determined it is in Des Moines County's interest to remain as a member county but permit any other member county to withdraw in accordance with the terms set out in the Exit Agreement. It is anticipated that a new 28E will be entered following withdrawal of such counties.

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED that the Des Moines County Board of Supervisors agrees to permit any RUSS member county to withdraw consistent with the terms set out in the attached Exit Agreement, and Des Moines County further resolved to remain a member county.

APPROVED AND SIGNED THIS 13th DAY OF January, 2015.

Jim Cary, Chairman Thomas L. Broeker, Vice-Chair Robert Beck, Member

### ATTEST: Carol Copeland, Des Moines County Auditor

Broeker moved to approve the list of Condemnation Commissioners for 2015. Seconded by Beck.

## **Condemnation Commissioners for 2015**

OWNERS OF AND OPERATORS OF AGRICULTURA Kirk Siegle Ray Robertson Stan Nelson Lee Robertson Terry Jamison Larry Beck	AL LAND: 6020 260 <sup>th</sup> St. 22382 Pegtown Road 18408 Roosevelt St 4478 – 260 <sup>th</sup> St 11912 Hwy 99, Lot 128 19268 – 110 <sup>th</sup> Street	Oakville Mediapolis Middletown Oakville Burlington Danville
CITY & TOWN OWNERS:		
Donald Reeder Barry Geng John Horton William Conkel Terry Johnson Dean E Robinson John Williams	<ul> <li>513 Harglen Ct</li> <li>2700 S. Main Street</li> <li>1212 Madison Avenue</li> <li>810 N 5<sup>th</sup> Street</li> <li>PO Box 254</li> <li>601 Swan St</li> <li>2228 Madison Ave</li> </ul>	Burlington Burlington Burlington Burlington Burlington West Burlington Burlington
REAL ESTATE BROKERS:		
Robert K. Gerdes Barbara J Kelley Mary Wiegard Deb Fowler Gwen Wixom Diane Kroll	2012 Highland Avenue 2306 Miller 1018 Cook 92 Golf Lane 1313 N Roosevelt Ave 2721 Monarch	Burlington Burlington Burlington Burlington Burlington Burlington
BANKERS-REAL ESTATE APPRAISER-AUCTIONEERS:		
Ron Kelley (Real Estate Appraiser) Kathy Conover (Real Estate Appraiser) Paul Smith (Owner-Auctions by Smith) Jeff Burgus (President- Mediapolis Savings Bank) Robert Hesler (Banker-Retired) Jerry Krause (Banker-First Federal Savings Bank Steve Francis (Farmers Saving Bank, Denmark) Kent Gaudian (Banker-Two Rivers Bank & Trust)	2306 Miller 11234 Cliff Rd 1616 Parkway PO Box 397 205 S. Main Street 5572 Oak Hills Drive 2072 Highland 222 N Main St	Burlington Burlington Burlington Mediapolis Danville Burlington Burlington Burlington

The 2014 Utility Assessment Report was approved upon motion by Beck and second by Broeker. The report shows a 6% decrease from last year's values.

Beck moved to approve the Gas & Electric Valuation Report for 2014. Seconded by Broeker. This report shows a 2% decrease from last year's values.

The Board's Committee Assignments for 2015 were approved upon motion made by Broeker and seconded by Beck.

### **Committee Assignments for 2015**

**Robert W. Beck** – <u>beckb@dmcounty.com</u>

College County Fair Service Agency DMC Solid Waste Commission Highway 61 Coalition Quad County De-categorization Board SEIA Regional Trails Committee/Commission

# Jim Cary - caryj@dmcounty.com

Caring CommUnity Empowerment Board Dept of Corrections – 8<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Emergency Food & Shelter Board of DMC Great River Gateway Committee Regional Workforce Investment Board-Region 16 SEIA Community Action South Iowa Crime Commission

Tom Broeker - broekert@dmcounty.com

City/County Health Insurance Board DMC Emergency Management Commission DMC Solid Waste Commission - alternate REAP Committee RUSS - alternate SEIL Mental Health Region Board DMC Conservation Board/Liaison Emergency Food & Shelter Board of DMC Iowa-Illinois Freight Corridor SEIRPC Local Health Board

Community Action Neighborhood CAP Council DesCom Chairman GIS Commission Home Caring Services Board RUSS South Iowa Area Juvenile Detention Agency Steamboat Senior Center

DMC Case Management Advisory Board DMC Joint Safety Committee Grow Greater Burlington/Chamber of Commerce Emergency Food & Shelter Board of DMC Disaster Recovery Organization

The following personnel actions were approved: Cheri Turney, receptionist at the County Attorney's office, took 15 hours of unpaid leave. Broeker moved to approve. Beck seconded. At the Correctional Center, Shafer McCune, was hired as part time C O at \$10.55 per hour. Motion to approve was made by Broeker and seconded by Beck. County Treasurer Janelle Nalley-Londquist requested a leave of absence and suspension of employment from her previous position and to be paid for her unused vacation. She also requested that her unused sick leave be paid per current policy at her future retirement. Motion to approve was made by Broeker and seconded by Beck.

The following reports were received and filed: Case Management, December 2014 General Assistance, December 2014 Recorder's Reports of Fees Collected, December 2014 Clerk's Report of Fees Collected, December 2014

Broeker moved to approve minutes for the regular Board meeting held on January 6<sup>th</sup>, 2015. Seconded by Beck.

Committee Reports: Broeker attended meetings of the Joint Safety Committee, Emergency Management and Disaster Recovery. Beck attended the Elected Officials reception sponsored by Greater Burlington Partnership.

Meeting was adjourned at 9:15 AM.

This Board meeting is recorded and the tape is kept on file for two years. The minutes are also posted on the county's website <u>www.dmcounty.com</u>

Approved January 20, 2015 Jim Cary, Chairman Attest: Carol Copeland, County Auditor