How Do I...?
Click to Home

Go To Search
HomeEmail
RSSPrint
Follow us on Facebook
Marriage Information
Information for Couples Wishing to Marry in Iowa:

To apply for a marriage license, both parties & 1 witness (one who is 18 years or older & knows both parties) must sign the application before a notary.

There is a $35.00 fee for the Marriage Application & License.  Only cash, credit card or money order accepted by the Des Moines County Recorder's Office.

Marriage applications will not be accepted after 4:00 PM.

Please remember there is a 3 working day wait for the processing of the application. The day of the application is excluded.

Application Received License Valid
Monday Friday
   Tuesday    Saturday
 Wednesday  Sunday
 Thursday  Monday
  Friday  Tuesday

The application allows for the marriage to take place anywhere in the state of Iowa.



Informational Marriage Documents 

State of Iowa Marriage License Instructions 

Important Information about Iowa Marriage Records 

Common Law Marriage

Application to Marry